Playback speed
×
Share post
Share post at current time
0:00
/
0:00

A Day in the Life, Deserving of a Ham & Cheese Toastie!

Ode to Brennan's Bread, Brady's Ham, Kilmeaden Cheddar and Kerrygold Irish Butter!

WELCOME FRIENDS!

It’s the simple things in life, right? I swear, Ireland has really taught me that less is more and this ham and cheese toasty is a perfect example of that. Enjoy!

“You are my sunshine, my only sunshine Kerrygold Irish Butter, you make me happy when skies are grey!”

Yes, I say most importantly too many times in this video. Yes, I meant to say the Brady family has cornered the market on ham and yes, I end the video with a confusing “Um!” But, if I wait for things to be perfect, you may never hear from me again!

I am not kidding. It has been the wettest, longest, coldest, windiest, and worst winter EVER here in Cork, and remember, it all began with a freakin FLOOD! I remember when we moved here and I had to become one with mud. It was just a part of life, having mud on our clothes, shoes, and jackets. There were times that Ari would come home covered in it and he’d traipse all through the house. It took me a while but I finally learned to let it all dry before trying to clean it or vacuum.

But now, I’ve had to become one with the rain. LL Bean is who I’m wearing most of the time! But even still, I am constantly soaked. The wind pushes the rain into the vulnerable places not covered by my waterproof pants, jacket, and shoes, like my neck, face, hands, and ankles! I don’t even blink anymore when it pelts my eyeballs as I cycle to and from my food trailer! The ground is so saturated that my trike just sinks and makes muddy tracks all through the rear garden, making it look like there was a mini monster truck rally in our backyard!

But my oh my, one bite of a perfectly toasted sandwich and one sip of tea and I forget all about the weather and I feel warm and wonderful! Ok, so back to the perfect ham & cheese toastie. Once the bread is golden on both sides and your cheese has mostly melted, remove the sandwich from the heat and flip it open. Add sliced tomatoes and red onion to the ham side and sprinkle with just a touch of sea salt. Then add Hellmann’s Mayonaise to the other side. Close the sandwich, and cut it in half diagonally. This is called a Toasted Special here in Ireland and it’s on just about every menu. It took me four months to put it on my menu because I am stubborn and don’t listen! But, considering how addicted I am, it’s probably a good thing I waited!

Ireland’s Toasted Special!

There is seriously nothing better on a cold, wet, and rainy day!

Tastebuds Ham & Cheese Toastie with Grapes, Crisps, and Barry’s Tea

I’ll just sit back and enjoy the view knowing it could be worse!

Food for Thought…

Sometimes I just have to stop and congratulate myself for inventing a job where Irish people just come to me all day long, brightening my day, making me laugh, and keeping my spirits up, no matter what’s going on around me or inside my head and heart. It is common knowledge that Irish people are the warmest, friendliest people on Earth and I can only add, that they are also very generous and incredibly supportive.

So, I’m wondering as I eat my ham and cheese toastie and feel all of my frustration with shite weather, endless construction, and worries about the success of my business melt away, could it be the overindulgence in pork that makes the Irish so kind to one another? I’ve always thought it was the beer, cider, and whiskey but they are drinking less and less. The swearing is still going strong which makes for great craic, but not everyone swears. No. It’s gotta be the pork.

I’m telling you, we could all learn a lot from the Irish! So, what if the secret to global peace is pork? Hear me out! The majority of conflicts in the world do tend to be among those who abstain from eating pork. Well?

Look!

All I am saying, is give peace pork a chance!

Thank You For Being Here With Me My Friends!

Cheers!

Bridget

Leave a comment

Share

0 Comments
Bridget McGinty's Newsletter
Bridget McGinty's Newsletter
Authors
Bridget McGinty